Pitt Cares: Community Resources

If you are impacted in any way by the tragic events at the Tree of Life Synagogue, please know that the University has resources available for you.

Dietrich School Professor Recognized by American Chemical Society

Hrvoje Petek, R. K. Mellon Chair in Physics and Astronomy and Professor of Chemistry, is the recipient of the Ahned Zewail Award in Ultrafast Science and Technology from the American Chemical Society. The award recognizes outstanding and creative contributions by a nominee to fundamental discoveries or inventions in ultrafast science and technology in the areas of physics, chemistry, biology, or related fields.

unBOXED poster
Department of Studio Arts Celebrates Milestone Anniversary with Alumni Exhibition

The Dietrich School's Department of Studio Arts is celebrating its 50th Anniversary with U N B O X E D, an Alumni Exhibition in the University Art Gallery. The opening reception Thursday, September 13 from 4 - 6 p.m. and the show runs from September 14 to October 12.

Viktoria Harms
Dietrich School Lecturer Recipient of AATG/Goethe-Institut Certificate of Merit

Viktoria Harms, lecturer in the Dietrich School's Department of German, has been selected by the American Association of Teachers of German (AATG) and the Goethe-Institut as one of the 2018 recipients of the AATG/Goethe-Institut Certificate of Merit for outstanding achievement in furthering the teaching of German in schools of the United States.

Sandy Asher
Dietrich School Distinguished Professor Wins Lifetime Achievement Award

Sanford Asher, Distinguished Professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Chemistry, is the recipient of the 2018 International Conference on Raman Spectroscopy (ICORS) Raman Lifetime Award. The award was presented during the organization's annual conference in South Korea.

Emily Elliott
Dietrich School Faculty Members Lead New Water Research Initiative

In a region where rivers and waterways are intrinsically tied to infrastructure, commerce, transportation and public health, up-to-date research on those resources is critical and potential areas of concern are vast. Four researchers from the Dietrich School's Department of Geology and Environmental Science will bring together regional stakeholders, community activists, students, researchers and concerned citizens for the forum “Let’s Talk About Water” on Sept. 6. The event serves as the official launch of the Pittsburgh Collaboratory for Water Research, Education and Outreach.

dollar bills
Open Door Project Event: The Matter of Money

How do factors such as generational learning, relational styles, and emotional expression define and impact our experience with money? And how can we move beyond our experiences to best support our economically disadvantaged students?

Dietrich School Chemistry Professor Awarded NIH MIRA Grant

Peng Liu, an assistant professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Chemistry, has been awarded a five-year MIRA grant from the National Institutes of Health. Professor Liu's research group uses computational tools to study organic and organometallic reactions. They study how reactions occur, factors controlling rates and selectivity, and provide theoretical insights to help develop improved catalysts and reagents. 

Kay Brummond
Associate Dean Kay Brummond Recognized by the Provost’s Advisory Committee on Women’s Concerns

Kay Brummond, Professor of Chemistry and Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs in the Dietrich School, was recently recognized by the Spotlight on Women Leaders program, an initiative created by the Provost’s Advisory Committee on Women’s Concerns (PACWC) to celebrate, share, and inspire women’s leadership across the University of Pittsburgh.

Documentary by Dietrich School Professor to Premiere at LA Film Festival

Making Montgomery Clift, a documentary by Dietrich School Film and Media Studies Program Professor Robert Clift, will have its world premiere in September at the LA Film Festival.

Emily Elliott
Dietrich School Faculty Member Recognized by AGU

Emily Elliott, an associate professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Geology and Environmental Science, is the recipient of the American Geophysical Union's 2018 Sulzman Award for Excellence in Education and Mentoring.

Kabirul Islam
Dietrich School Faculty Member Receives Three-Year NSF Grant

Kabirul Islam, an assistant professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Chemistry, is the recipient of a three-year, $650,000 grant to develop an integrated chemical biology research and educational program to answer a central question in mammalian biology: how identical DNA present in an organism creates diverse cell lineages.

Bob Brandom
Distinguished Professor Elected to British Academy

Robert Brandom, Distinguished Professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Philosophy and Fellow of the University's Center for the Philosophy of Science, has been elected a Fellow of the British Academy.

Waverly Duck
Dietrich School Faculty Member Named Carnegie Library Trustee

Dietrich School faculty member Waverly Duck has been chosen for a three-year term on the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s Board of Trustees. Duck is an associate professor in the Department of Sociology whose fields of interest include urban ethnography.

Ann E. Cudd
Dietrich School Three-Degree Alumna Ann E. Cudd Elected Pitt Provost

Ann E. Cudd, dean of the College and Graduate School of Arts and Sciences at Boston University, has been named provost and senior vice chancellor at the University of Pittsburgh. She was elected by the University’s Board of Trustees at its June 29 annual meeting. Cudd received her PhD in philosophy and master’s degrees in economics and philosophy from the Dietrich School and earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics and philosophy at Swarthmore College.