compass of excellence
Dietrich School Staff Member Sarah Baumann Recognized for Leadership

Sarah Baumann, Office Manager and Assistant to the Chair in the Dietrich School's Department of English, has been named the winner of the 2020 Orosz Award for Excellence in Emerging Leadership.

hands in a circle
A Message from Dean Blee to the Dietrich School Community

Our country, our city, and our campus reel in response to yet another killing of yet another unarmed African American man, George Floyd. Our Dietrich School community is heartbroken and enraged beyond measure. But now, more than ever, is a time for action. And for the kind of bold, necessary change that is beyond mere tweaks and adjustments to the status quo.

Sara Kuebbing
Dietrich School Professor Named Ecological Society of America Early Career Fellow

Sara Kuebbing, an assistant professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Biological Sciences, has been named a 2020 early career fellow of the Ecological Society of America.

Graham Hatfull
Dietrich School Biological Sciences Faculty Member Elected to AAAS

Graham Hatfull, Eberly Family Professor of Biotechnology and HHMI Professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Biological Sciences, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences Class of 2020.

gear of excellence
Nominations Invited for the Orosz Award for Excellence in Emerging Leadership

We are now accepting nominations for the 2020 Orosz Award. The award will recognize Dietrich School and College of General Studies staff members in the early stages of their careers who have exhibited excellence in their performance and displayed leadership qualities among their peers.

3MT competition
Vote for Dietrich School Grad Students for 3MT People's Choice Award

The 3MT competition celebrates the exciting research conducted by Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) students. Twenty graduate students from across the University of Pittsburgh--half of whom are from the Dietrich School--are participating in this year's 3MT competition. Visit the link and watch each contestant's video presentation, then vote for your People's Choice winner.

COVID virus
COVID-19: What You Need to Know

Get all of the latest updates and resources related to the University's response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Dietrich School Faculty Receive Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching and Research Awards

Dietrich School faculty members Yan Dong, Jules Gill-Peterson, Peng Liu, Jeff Aziz, and Jennifer Cousins are recipients of 2020 Chancellor's Distinguished Awards.

Writing in notebook
Dietrich School Launches New Writing Institute

The Dietrich School recently launched a new writing institute to help create a “more vibrant writing culture” on Pitt’s campus. The William S. Dietrich II Institute for Writing Excellence, which is rooted in the Department of English’s Composition Program, will help Dietrich School professors advance their writing instruction and help them teach discipline-specific writing in their courses.

Grace McHale
Dietrich School Fulbright Recipients Contribute to Setting New Pitt Record

The University of Pittsburgh once again is among the nation’s top institutions for producing Fulbright students. According to the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, 14 students from Pitt won Fulbright scholarships in 2019.

Bob Brandom
Distinguished Professor Receives 2019 Barricelli Prize

Robert Brandom, Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, is the recipient of the 2019 Jean-Pierre Barricelli Prize for his book A Spirit of Trust: A Reading of Hegel's Phenomenology. The award recognizes the year's best book in the field of Romanticism studies.

Toi Derricotte
Dietrich School Professor Emerita Wins 2020 Frost Medal

Toi Derricotte, Professor Emerita, is the 2020 recipient of the Poetry Society of America's Frost Medal for distinguished lifetime achievement in poetry.

Thomas Freitag
Dietrich School Undergraduate Wins Kanders Churchill Scholarship in Science Policy

Thomas Freitag, a fourth-year student studying neuroscience and psychology in the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences with a minor in chemistry, is the recipient of the prestigious Kanders Churchill Scholarship in Science Policy from the Winston Churchill Foundation of the United States. Freitag will pursue a one-year Master’s in Public Policy (MPP) at Churchill College in the University of Cambridge next academic year, carrying out research on issues related to HIV prevention and treatment.

Nicole Mitchell Gantt
Dietrich School Professor Named 2020 USA Fellow by United States Artists

Professor Nicole Mitchell, Director of Jazz Studies and Director of the Creative Arts Ensemble in the Dietrich School's Department of Music, has been named a 2020 USA Fellow by United States Artists. The award includes a $50,000 unrestricted fellowship.

Caitlin Bruce
Dietrich School Faculty Member Receives Urban Communication Foundation Award

Caitlin Bruce, assistant professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Communication, is the recipient of the 2019 Jane Jacobs Urban Communication Foundation Award for her book Painting Publics: Transnational Legal Graffiti Scenes as Spaces for Encounter.