Bob Brandom
Distinguished Professor Receives 2019 Barricelli Prize

Robert Brandom, Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, is the recipient of the 2019 Jean-Pierre Barricelli Prize for his book A Spirit of Trust: A Reading of Hegel's Phenomenology. The award recognizes the year's best book in the field of Romanticism studies.

Toi Derricotte
Dietrich School Professor Emerita Wins 2020 Frost Medal

Toi Derricotte, Professor Emerita, is the 2020 recipient of the Poetry Society of America's Frost Medal for distinguished lifetime achievement in poetry.

Thomas Freitag
Dietrich School Undergraduate Wins Kanders Churchill Scholarship in Science Policy

Thomas Freitag, a fourth-year student studying neuroscience and psychology in the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences with a minor in chemistry, is the recipient of the prestigious Kanders Churchill Scholarship in Science Policy from the Winston Churchill Foundation of the United States. Freitag will pursue a one-year Master’s in Public Policy (MPP) at Churchill College in the University of Cambridge next academic year, carrying out research on issues related to HIV prevention and treatment.

Nicole Mitchell Gantt
Dietrich School Professor Named 2020 USA Fellow by United States Artists

Professor Nicole Mitchell, Director of Jazz Studies and Director of the Creative Arts Ensemble in the Dietrich School's Department of Music, has been named a 2020 USA Fellow by United States Artists. The award includes a $50,000 unrestricted fellowship.

Caitlin Bruce
Dietrich School Faculty Member Receives Urban Communication Foundation Award

Caitlin Bruce, assistant professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Communication, is the recipient of the 2019 Jane Jacobs Urban Communication Foundation Award for her book Painting Publics: Transnational Legal Graffiti Scenes as Spaces for Encounter.

Cathedral of Learning in winter
Dietrich School Policy on Closures and Cancellations

In anticipation of winter weather, the Dietrich School has issued a policy on closures and class cancellations.

Cameron Barnett
Dietrich School Alumnus Receives Creative Achievement Award

Dietrich School alumnus Cameron Barnett (A&S '16G), who teaches language arts and world history to elementary students at Pitt’s Falk Laboratory School, is the recipient of this year’s $15,000 Carol R. Brown Creative Achievement Award for Emerging Artist.

Tao Han
Dietrich School Distinguished Professor Elected to AAAS

Tao Han, Distinguished Professor of High Energy Physics in the Dietrich School's Department of Physics and Astronomy, has been elected to the rank AAAS Fellow by the Council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Han is being honored for "distinguished contributions to our understanding of Physics Beyond the Standard Model, particularly with regard to its study at high energy particle accelerators." Han will be recognized during a formal presentation in February 2020 during the AAAS Fellows Forum, part of the Association's annual meeting.

Dietrich School Professor Writes NYT Essay on Mister Rogers

Jeanne Marie Laskas, Distinguished Professor of English in the Dietrich School and founding director of Pitt’s Center for Creativity, published an essay in The New York Times Magazine about her friendship with Fred Rogers. Laskas first met Rogers after finishing graduate school and remained friends with him until his death in 2003.

Pitt Cares: Stronger Than Hate

The Pitt community honors the lives lost one year ago in the Tree of Life Synagogue shootings and stands in solidarity with our Jewish classmates, colleagues, teachers, neighbors, family members and friends.

Nicole Mitchell Gantt
Dietrich School Jazz Studies Director Honored by Jazz Institute of Chicago

Dietrich School Professor Nicole Mitchell Gantt, William S. Dietrich II Endowed Chair in Jazz Studies, Director of Jazz Studies, and Director of the Creative Arts Ensemble, has been named the 2019 Women in the Arts Jazz Visionary Awardee by the Jazz Institute of Chicago. The award will be presented at the end of October during the Institute's 50th anniversary gala.

Dietrich School History Faculty Members Recognized by American Historical Association

Kudos to Dietrich School Department of History faculty members Michel Gobat and Evelyn Rawski who were recognized by the American Historical Association with, respectively, the Friedrich Katz Prize in Latin American and Caribbean History, and the Award for Scholarly Distinction honoring lifetime achievements.

Holger Hoock
Dietrich School Awarded $1.5 Million Grant to Transform Doctoral Education in the Humanities

The Dietrich School has been awarded a grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to support a transformation of doctoral education in the humanities. The four-year, $1.5 million grant will fund Humanities Engage, a comprehensive plan to prepare doctoral students to become scholar-leaders ready to pursue high-impact careers within and beyond a changing academy.

Pitt flags
Nominate an Outstanding Academic Advisor for the Ampco-Pittsburgh Prize

From October 1 through October 31, 2019, the Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences will accept nominations for the Ampco-Pittsburgh Prize for Excellence in Advising. This annual award recognizes outstanding academic advising of Dietrich School undergraduate students. The recipient receives a one-time cash award of $4,000. Contact Z Taylor at for information.

excellence gears
Nominations Invited for Bellet Teaching Awards

Recognize extraordinary achievement and innovation in undergraduate teaching by nominating a Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences faculty member for the 2020 Tina & David Bellet Teaching Excellence Awards. These awards honor faculty members who have had a profound influence on their students and who truly embody what it means to be a teacher. Faculty and students are invited to submit nomination letters from October 1 through October 31, 2009.