Dietrich School Receives NEH Grant to Rethink Humanities Doctoral Education

The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) has awarded a nearly $25,000 grant to Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Research, Holger Hoock, the J. Carroll Amundson Professor of British History, to support his project, “Humanities Careers: Re-Imagining Doctoral Education in the Humanities.” The grant will be matched by funding from the Dietrich School.

Dietrich School Students, Alumnae Among NSF Fellowship Honorees

Dietrich School graduate students Brett Baribault Bankson, Stefanie Lee Sequeira, and Alaina Nicole McDonnell, and alumnae Julianne Griffith and Aleza Wallace were awarded the 2018 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship. In addition, graduate students Amy Ryan, Kathryn Mae Rothenhoefer, Andrea Marie Fetters, Mariah Denhart, Timothy Stephen Coleman, Hope Elizabeth Anne Brooks, and Mary Elizabeth Rouse Braza, and alumnae Sarah Elise Post, Hannah Katherine Dollish, and Krista Bullard received Honorable Mentions.

Rickey Laurentiis
CAAPP Creative Writing Fellow Wins 2018 Whiting Award

Rickey Laurentiis, the inaugural Creative Writing Fellow at the University of Pittsburgh Center for African American Poetry and Poetics, has won a 2018 Whiting Award for Poetry.

A Statement from Dean Kathleen Blee

For the last several months, the University has been investigating climate issues in our Department of Communication—both reviewing reports from more than a decade ago regarding allegations of sexual misconduct in the Department as well as surveying today’s climate.

Dennis Doyle
Dietrich School Junior Named Beinecke Scholar

Dietrich School undergraduate Dennis Doyle has been named a 2018 Beinecke Scholar. Dennis, a junior studying chemistry and studio arts, is the third Beinecke Scholar in the University's history. His artwork is featured at the Studio Arts Student Exhibition, running March 30 through April 28 at the University Art Gallery in the Frick Fine Arts Building.

Dietrich School Professor Granted EURIAS Fellowship

Dietrich School faculty member Todd Reeser, Professor of French and Director of the Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies Program, has been awarded a 10-month senior residential fellowship in AY2019 in Lyon, France under the auspices of the EURIAS Fellowship Programme to conduct archival research on his ongoing "Transgender France" book project, and become part of a research team at the Max Weber Center. His research community in Lyon is focused on the subcategory of "Sexualités, couples, identités."

Yolanda Covington-Ward
Africana Studies Professor Receives Amaury Talbot Prize

Yolanda Covington-Ward, associate professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Africana Studies, is the recipient of the 2016 Amaury Talbot Prize for Africanist Anthropology from the Royal Anthropological Institute in England for her book Gesture and Power: Religion, Nationalism, and Everyday Performance in Congo.

Deane Root
Music Department Chair Recognized with Lifetime Achievement Award

On March 3, the Society for American Music honored Dietrich School Department of Music Chair Deane Root with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his scholarship in American music and overall academic leadership.

Kay Brummond
Chancellor Recognizes Dietrich School Faculty for Teaching, Research, and Service

Dietrich School faculty members, including Associate Dean Kay Brummond, were recognized for their outstanding teaching, research, and public service during the 2018 Honors Convocation on February 23.

Dietrich School Senior Named Inaugural Kanders Churchill Scholar

Joseph Kannarkat, a Dietrich School senior studying economics and neuroscience will spend a year at the University of Cambridge earning a Master of Philosophy in public policy.

Dietrich School Faculty Members Recognized for Excellence in Mentoring

Dietrich School faculty members Jonathan Arac, Lucy Fischer, Robert Hayden, and Satish Iyengar, have been named recipients of the 2018 Provost's Award for Excellence in Mentoring.

Summer Sessions Registration Begins February 12

Delve into your major or explore a new interest area. Take a course you missed this year. Take just one class at a time to excel in the toughest classes. Whatever your reason for taking summer classes, current Pitt students can find out how to register by visiting the Summer Sessions Web site.

Marlene Cohen
Dietrich School Neuroscience Professor Receives 2018 Troland Research Award

Marlene Cohen, an assistant professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Neuroscience, is the recipient of the National Academy of Sciences' 2018 Troland Research Award for her work on how neurons in the brain process visual information.

Renata Blumenfeld-Kosinski
Distinguished Professor of French Elected to Medieval Academy of America

Renate Blumenfeld-Kosinski, Distinguished Professor of French, in the Dietrich School's Department of French and Italian Languages and Literatures, has been elected as an Officer of the Medieval Academy of America.

studio arts summer 2017 creative research exhibition, Jan 19 - Feb 9
Studio Arts Student Exhibition, January 19 - February 9, 2018

Now in its ninth year, the Studio Arts Summer 2017 Creative Research Exhibition: Wyoming Field Study and Undergraduate Research Awards features work by students participating in the Summer 2017 Studio Arts Field Study in Wyoming offered through the University Honors College as well as Studio Arts Research Fellows conducting independent research through the University Honors College, the Dietrich School's Office of Undergraduate Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity, and the ACCAC Fellows Program in Creativity and Innovation.