hands in a circle
Dietrich School Seeks Senior Advisor to the Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

The Dietrich School is seeking to appoint a Senior Advisor to the Dean. The Senior Advisor will work collaboratively with the Dean, the School’s Faculty and Staff Diversity Committees, and the School’s Diversity Task Force to guide efforts to plan, implement, and assess strategies to advance the DEI goals that are of central importance to the School’s educational and scholarly excellence.

Pete Chambers
Dietrich School Director Wins Chancellor's Award for Research Support

Pete Chambers, the Dietrich School's Director of Shared Research Support Services, has been selected to receive the 2018-19 Chancellor's Staff Award in the Research Support category. The award recognizes a staff member who has worked to advance the University's research efforts, including, but not limited to conducting research and providing other forms of research support.

Caitlin Bruce
Dietrich School Faculty Member Receives Early Career Award

Caitlin Bruce, assistant professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Communication, is the recipient of the National Communication Association Rhetorical and Communication Theory (RCT) Division's 2019 Early Career Award.

Julian Gill-Peterson
Dietrich School Faculty Member Wins Lambda Literary Award

Julian Gill-Peterson, as assistant professor in the Dietrich School's Department of English, is the recipient of the Lambda Literary Award for Transgender Nonfiction for their book Histories of the Transgender Child.

Robin Brooks
Dietrich School Professor Receives Post-Doctoral Fellowship

Robin Brooks, an assistant professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Africana Studies, is the recipient of a 2019-20 Ford Foundation Post-Doctoral Fellowship, which is administered by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The fellowship program seeks to increase the diversity of the nation's college and university faculties by increasing their ethnic and racial diversity, to maximize the educational benefits of diversity, and to increase the number of professors who can and will use diversity as a resource for enriching the education of all students.

Sam Ressin
Dietrich School Undergraduate Wins Udall Scholarship

Sam Ressin of Vienna, Virginia, is one of only 55 college students out of 443 nationwide candidates to receive a 2019 Udall Scholarship. Ressin is a rising senior studying economics and statistics in the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences, and is completing a certificate in Global Studies out of the University Center for International Studies

Graham Hatfull
Dietrich School Faculty Member Leads Team in Lifesaving Research Effort

A team of researchers from the Dietrich School's Department of Biological Sciences, led by Graham Hatfull, Eberly Family Professor of Biotechnology and HHMI Professor, is responsible for using phages, or viruses that infect bacteria, to fight an infection in a teenage lung transplant patient. The phages were discovered by undergraduate students in SEA-PHAGES, a program administered under Hatfull that teaches how to discover and analyze the viruses.

Keisha Blain
Dietrich School History Professor Recipient of Best Book Award

Keisha Blain, assistant professor in the Dietrich School's Department of History, received the 2019 Darlene Clark Hine Award from the Organization of American Historians (OAH). The prestigious award, given annually for the “best book in African American women’s and gender history,” was presented to Blain for her recent publication, “Set the World on Fire: Black Nationalist Women and the Global Struggle for Freedom.”

Mari Webel
Dietrich School Historian Bridges Gap in Understanding Neglected Tropical Diseases

Dietrich School faculty member--the University's first-ever Andrew W. Mellon Foundation New Directions Fellow--seeks to help change the perceptions of Neglected Tropical Diseases (NTDs) by engaging directly with researchers in public health and medicine.

Four Dietrich School Students Earn 2019 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships

Dietrich School undergraduates Julia Driscoll, Teja Peddada, Mariya Savinov, and Swapna Subramanian have been named recipients of 2019 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships, which support outstanding students who are pursuing careers in the fields of engineering, mathematics, and the natural sciences.

Mohammed Bamyeh
Dietrich School Professor Elected President of Arab Council for the Social Sciences

Mohammed Bamyeh, professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Sociology, has been elected president of the Arab Council for the Social Sciences (ACSS).

Five Dietrich School Students Receive 2019 NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Five Dietrich School students were awarded 2019 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships. Six Dietrich School students also earned honorable mentions.

Michel Gobat
Dietrich School History Professor Named Finalist for PROSE Award

Michel Gobat, an associate professor in the Dietrich School's Department of History, has been named a finalist for the 2019 PROSE Awards for his book, “Empire by Invitation: William Walker and Manifest Destiny in Central America.”

John R. Starr
Dietrich School Undergraduate Wins Beinecke Scholarship

Undergraduate student John R. Starr has been awarded a Beinecke Scholarship worth $34,000 in support of his graduate education. Starr, a third year student from Warminster, Pennsylvania, is studying linguistics and English Writing, with a minor in Persian. He plans to pursue a PhD in linguistics with a focus on Persian.

Caroline Runyan, 2019 Searle Scholar
Dietrich School Faculty Member Named 2019 Searle Scholar

Caroline Runyan, an assistant professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Neuroscience, has been named a 2019 Searle Scholar. The Searle Scholars Program makes grants to selected universities and research centers to support the independent research of exceptional young faculty in the biomedical sciences and chemistry who have recently been appointed as assistant professors on a tenure-track appointment. Runyan is one of 15 scientists selected for recognition this year.