Open Door Project Panel Presentation Explores Women's Rights, January 19

Dietrich School faculty panelists Jean Carr, Emily Crosby, Maurine Greenwald, Marie Skoczylas, and Christel Temple will discuss the gains women have made since the passage of the 19th Amendment, and what obstacles they still face in achieving economic, political, and social equality. January 19, 3:30-5 p.m., Humanities Center (602 CL).

Dietrich School Alumna Receives 2017 NEA Creative Writing Fellowship

Lauren Russell--research assistant professor in the Department of English, assistant director of Pitt's Center for African American Poetry and Poetics, and Dietrich School alumna--is the recipient of a prestigious $25,000 Creative Writing Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Dietrich School Professor is Marvel Comics' First Black Woman Writer

Yona Harvey, assistant professor in the Department of English, is one of two first-ever African American female writers for Marvel Comics. Earlier this year, Harvey and feminist writer Roxane Gay were tapped to write for the World of Wakanda, a spinoff of the popular Black Panther series first created in 1966.

Dietrich School Chemist, Physicist Named AAAS Fellows

Dietrich School faculty members David Waldeck, professor in the Department of Chemistry, and Hrvoje Petek, the Richard King Mellon Professor of Physics and Astronomy, have been honored as fellows in the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the nation’s most prestigious scientific society.

Dietrich School Professor and Graduate Student Part of International Team Studying Proton Movement in Water

An international team of scientists, including Kenneth Jordan, Richard King Mellon Professor and Distinguished Professor of Computational Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry, are pursuing an enhanced understanding of the movement of protons in water, which is needed to improve the technologies that depend on proton transfer. Their work was recently published in Science.

Dietrich School Junior Recipient of 2016 Pitt-BNY Mellon Jazz Scholarship

Dietrich School junior Ryan Salisbury, 20, is the recipient of the 2016 Pitt-BNY Mellon Jazz Scholarship. Salisbury is a double major in biological sciences and music. He won the $5,000 academic scholarship based on a recording of jazz standards he submitted to a judging panel composed of members of the Pitt Jazz Studies Program faculty.

Dietrich School Alumnus Wins 2016 National Book Award for Poetry

Dietrich School alumnus Daniel Borzutzky (A&S '97) is the recipient of the 2016 National Book Award for Poetry for his book, The Performance of Becoming Human (Brooklyn Arts Press, 2016).

"From the Crusades to ISIS," an Open Door Project Panel Presentation, November 17

Join a multidisciplinary panel of Dietrich School experts on Thursday, November 17 at 3 p.m. in 3703 Posvar Hall to explore religious persecution within the broader historical context of Civil Rights in America.

Dietrich School Psychology Professor Receives $21.8 Million Grant to Study Exercise/Brain-Health Link in Older Adults

Kirk Erickson, associate professor in the Dietrich School's Department of Psychology, is the recipient of a five-year, $21.8 million grant from the National Institute on Aging, to study whether exercise influences cognitive and brain health in cognitively normal older adults.

Dietrich School Open Door Project Presents Diversity Experience Training, November 18

This session is designed to introduce Pitt faculty, student, and staff participants to the transformative model of Intergroup Dialogue and to support participants in gaining courage to have uncomfortable conversations through the creation of safe spaces that deepen relationships within and across social identities in meaningful ways.

Harvard Sociologist William Julius Wilson Discusses Segregation, Unemployment, and Discrimination, October 19

The Dietrich School's Department of Africana Studies presents William Julius Wilson, one of the nation's most accomplished and looked-to analysts of race, inequality, and poverty, on October 19, at 6:30 p.m. in the Frick Fine Arts Auditorium.

"From Birmingham to Black Lives Matter," an Open Door Project Panel Presentation, October 20

Join a multidisciplinary panel of Dietrich School experts to explore the Black Lives Matter movement within the broader historical context of Civil Rights in America, Thursday, October 20 from 3-5 p.m. in 501 CL.

Bellet Award Nominations Accepted October 1-31

The Tina and David Bellet Teaching Excellence Awards recognize outstanding and innovative teaching in undergraduate studies in the Dietrich School. Students and faculty are encouraged to submit nominations between October 1 and 31

Dietrich School Invites Nominations for Ampco-Pittsburgh Advising Prize, October 1-31

The Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences will accept nominations for the Ampco-Pittsburgh Prize for Excellence in Advising from October 1-31. This annual award recognizes outstanding faculty academic advising of Dietrich School undergraduate students.

Dietrich School Open Door Project Presents, "How to Be a Muslim Ally," October 12

The Dietrich School Open Door Project invites the entire Pitt community to attend "How to Be a Muslim Ally," presented by The Islamic Center of Pittsburgh on Wednesday, October 12, from 3 - 5 p.m. in the University Club, Ballroom B.