Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences Council

Dietrich School Council for AY 2023-24

The Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences Council oversees the Dietrich School Graduate Council and the Dietrich School Undergraduate Council, elects the Faculty Grants Committee and other committees whose work pertains to the full faculty, and acts for the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences in intervals between full faculty meetings.


Vice Chair

Elected T/TS Faculty Members​

  • Tymofiy Mylovanov, Economics (Social Sciences) (term expires 2024)
  • Drew Armstrong, History of Art and Architecture (Humanities) (term expires 2025)
  • Jon Johnson, Neuroscience (Natural Sciences) (term expires 2025)
  • Laura Lovett, History (Social Sciences) (term expires 2025)
  • Jennifer Waldron, English (Humanities) (term expires 2026)
  • Brian Stewart, Geology and Environmental Science (Natural Sciences) (term expires 2026)
  • Robin Brooks, Africana Studies (Social Sciences) (term expires 2026)
  • TBD, (Humanities) (term expires 2024)
  • TBD, (Natural Sciences) (term expires 2024)

Elected AS Faculty Members

  • Kathleen Manukyan, Slavic Languages and Literatures (Humanities) (term expires 2024)
  • Russell Clark, Physics and Astronomy (Natural Sciences) (term expires 2025)
  • Liann Tsoukas, History (Social Sciences) (term expires 2026)

Divisional Chair Representatives

Dietrich School GSO Representatives

Dietrich School SGB Representatives

Dean’s Office Personnel​

Dietrich School Council consists of: 

  • the Dean of the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences and the College of General Studies (who shall preside)
  • the Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Recruitment 
  • the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
  • nine (9) elected T/TS Faculty members, with three (3) members from each division and no more than one member from any one department, who shall NOT be departmental chairpersons
  • three (3) elected AS Faculty members, with one member from each division
  • one Department Chair representative from each of the Divisions
  • two (2) Dietrich School undergraduate students appointed by the SGB
  • two (2) graduate students appointed by the Dietrich School GSO

The Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and the Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies and the College of General Studies also attend the meetings, even though they are not officially on the Dietrich School Council according to the Bylaws.