Orosz Award for Excellence in Emerging Leadership

Orosz Award for Excellence in Emerging Leadership in the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences and the College of General Studies

The Dietrich School’s Orosz Award was established to honor Michael Orosz, a staff member in the Department of Biological Sciences who passed away unexpectedly in 2003. Mike’s family generously donated funds to establish an endowment in his name to recognize staff excellence in performing their jobs.

We are now accepting nominations for the 2020 Orosz Award. The award will recognize staff members in the early stages of their careers who have exhibited excellence in their performance and displayed leadership qualities among their peers. To be nominated, staff must have worked for the University at least one year but not more than five years. Staff nominees must have worked in the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences/College of General Studies for at least one full year. Faculty or staff members are encouraged to nominate a staff member for this award.

The award carries a $500 prize for the recipient. Nominations will be reviewed and awards determined by a diverse committee of staff within the Dietrich School and CGS. In subsequent years, prior awardees will be asked to serve on the selection committee. 

Nominations for 2020 will be accepted until May 22 and the award made no later than June 8.  Nominations may come from any faculty or staff member within the Dietrich School and CGS. Multiple letters may accompany one nominee. Letters should be sent to Maureen Lazar, Director of Workforce Effectiveness at lazarm@pitt.edu. Nominations should include the following information:

  • Nominee’s name
  • Department/Division/Unit
  • Individual’s name making the nomination
  • A short description, maximum 1 page, including specific examples, of the nominee’s commitment to excellent performance in their position and their role as a leader among peers.
    • In this instance, “leadership” is not limited to supervisory leadership. There are many ways that individuals may serve as leaders among their peers, and the committee will consider a variety of forms that leadership including mentoring, offering assistance to peers and coworkers in service to the School, and fostering cultures of excellence in performance, diversity, effectiveness and other aspects related to the goals and aspirations outlined in the University’s Plan for Pitt.

2020 Timeline for Orosz Award

April 17, 2020                   Nominations open

May 22, 2020                    All Nominations Due

May 26-30th                       Committee reviews nominations

Week of June 1st              Committee meets to select awardee

Week of June 8th              Awardee notified

Previous Orosz Award Winners

Blessy Bellamy – Psychology
Frank Hammond – Music
Steven Hernandez - CGS – Office of Veteran’s Services
Abby Primack - Biological Sciences
David Roudabush- CGS- Office of Veteran’s Services
John Willard - A&S Dean’s Office, Payroll Team