Psychology Professor Receives Ampco-Pittsburgh Prize

The Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences has named Barbara Kucinski, advisor and lecturer in the University of Pittsburgh Department of Psychology, the recipient of the 2010 Ampco-Pittsburgh Prize for Excellence in Advising.

Pitt Chancellor's Scholar Named Emma Locke Award Winner

Honors College senior Kamesh Krishnamurthy will receive a Bachelor of Philosophy degree in bioengineering and political science.

Pitt Honors College Student Wins Udall Scholarship

An ecology and evolution and bioinformatics major, Amy Scarbrough wants to fight environmental degradation.

Arts and Sciences Students Recognized by NSF

Thirteen graduate and undergraduate students representing a number of School of Arts and Sciences departments are among the University of Pittsburgh students to be recognized by the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program.

Summer Sessions Registration Opens February 22

Whether students are finishing their first term or looking forward to graduation, summer sessions provide an exciting opportunity to catch up on needed credits, stay on track to graduate in four years, or get ahead of schedule.

Jonathan Livengood awarded ACLS Mellon Dissertation Completion Fellowship

Jonathan Livengood, a doctoral candidate in the Department of History and Philosophy of Science, has been awarded a Mellon Dissertation Completion Fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies, providing him with support during the final year of writing his dissertation.

Three Arts and Sciences Faculty Members Receive Provost’s Award for Mentoring

Jean Ferguson Carr, John Lyne, and Richard Scaglion have been selected as recipients of the 2010 Provost’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring. This annual award recognizes mentoring accomplishments and success in working with doctoral students.

University of Pittsburgh Student Awarded Goldwater Scholarship

Two other Pitt students receive Honorable Mentions

Three Pitt Honors College Juniors Receive 2010 Humanity in Action Fellowships

This is the fifth consecutive year that Pitt has competed successfully in the HIA Fellowship program.

Boryana Dobreva awarded ACLS Mellon Dissertation Completion Fellowship

Boryana Dobreva, a PhD student in the Department of German, was awarded a Mellon Dissertation Completion Fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies to support her final year of dissertation writing next academic year.

Pitt Professor’s Noted Three-Decade Career in Chemistry Earns Place Among 8 Esteemed Scientists to Be Named Honorary Doctors at Paris’ University of Pierre and Marie Curie

Dennis P. Curran, a Distinguished Service Professor of Chemistry and pioneering researcher in radical and fluorous chemistry, will be recognized during a March 26 ceremony at the Sorbonne with fellow awardees, including a Nobel laureate and the president of MIT


Associate Professor Milos Hauskrecht is awarded two grants through the National Institutes of Health (NIH): Detecting Deviations in Clinical Care in ICU data Streams and Using Medical Records Repositories to Improve the Alert System Design.

Two 2010 Bellet Award Winners Selected From Pitt's School of Arts and Sciences

PITTSBURGH-The University of Pittsburgh School of Arts and Sciences has named Paul Gartside, associate professor in the Department of Mathematics, and Adam Leibovich, associate professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, winners of the 2010 Tina and David Bellet Teaching Excellence Award.

Pitt Alumni Association Names 2010 Distinguished Alumni Fellows

The University of Pittsburgh Alumni Association has named Jeremy W. Feldbusch (A&S '01), national spokesperson for the Wounded Warrior Project, and Samuel A. McCullough (BUS '60), president and CEO of Griffin Holdings Group LLC, as Distinguished Alumni Fellows for 2010.

Nancy Condee Receives 2010 Katherine Singer Kovács Book Award

he Society for Cinema and Media Studies has given the 2010 Katherine Singer Kovács Book Award (“for outstanding scholarship in film and media studies”) to Professor Nancy Condee for her book The Imperial Trace: Recent Russian Cinema (Oxford University Press, 2009).