UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH

The DIETRICH School of Arts & Sciences Gazette

VOL. 53, NO. 6 APRIL 11, 2022

KENNETH P. DIETRICH SCHOOL OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

SPRING FULL FACULTY MEETING

April 21, 2022

2 – 3 p.m.

Join Zoom Meeting https://pitt.zoom.us/j/91385483339 Meeting ID: 913 8548 3339 Passcode: 914086

Agenda

- 1. Student Wellness (Carla Panzella, Dean of Students, with introduction by Associate Dean John Twyning)
- 2. Dean's Report (Dean Kathleen Blee)
- 3. Changes to Lecturer Titles (Dean Kathleen Blee)
- 4. Election of Dietrich School Nominating Committee (Dean Blee)

NOMINATIONS

The Nominating Committee, which was elected by ballot of Dietrich School voting members on September 20, 2021, has submitted the following slate of candidates for election by the voting members of the School to membership on the various Dietrich School councils and boards. Names may be added to this list by written petition of at least twenty Dietrich School faculty members, provided the petition is received by the Dietrich School Dean no later than April 5, 2022. After that date a ballot for election to the councils and boards will be distributed to the Dietrich School voting membership at the April 14, 2022 full faculty meeting.

(H = Humanities; NS = Natural Sciences; SS = Social Sciences)

Nominees for the Dietrich School Council

(3 T/TS members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 3-year term):

H: Serena Rivera, Hispanic Languages andLiteraturesH: Drew Armstrong, History of Art and Architecture

NS: Craig Kaplan, Biological Sciences NS: Jon Johnson, Neuroscience

SS: Laura Lovett, History SS: Mohamed Bamyeh, Sociology

(1 AS member to be elected from Natural Sciences for a 3-year term.)

NS: Kim Payne, Biological Sciences NS: Russell Clark, Physics and Astronomy

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Undergraduate** Council

(3 T/TS members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 3-year term):

H: Rachel Kranson, Religious Studies H: Jacques Bromberg, Classics

NS: Kirill Kiselyov, Biological Sciences NS: Evan Schneider, Physics and Astronomy NS: Andrea Berman, Biological Sciences

SS: Christel Temple, Africana Studies SS: Laura Lovett, History SS: Emily Wanderer, Anthropology

(1 AS member to be elected from Natural Sciences for a 3-year term.)

NS: Burhan Gharaibeh, Biological Sciences NS: Ericka Huston, Chemistry

Nominees for the Dietrich School Graduate Council

(3 graduate faculty members to be elected, one each in the Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions for a 2-year term):

H: Nancy Condee, Slavic Languages and LiteraturesH: Christian Wildberg, ClassicsH: Michelle Granshaw, Theatre Arts

NS: Kirill Kiselyov, Biological Sciences NS: Nathaniel Rosi, Chemistry

SS: Niklas Frykman, History SS: Randall Walsh, Economics SS: Luca Rigotti, Economics

Nominees for the Academic Integrity Review Board

(2 T/TS or AS members and 2 T/TS or AS alternates to be elected, non-division specific, for 2-year terms):

H: Marta Ortega-Llebaria, LinguisticsH: Dolores Lima, Hispanic Languages and Literatures

- NS: David Nero, Physics and Astronomy
- NS: Carol Fortney, Chemistry
- NS: Erica McGreevy, Biological Sciences
- SS: Tessa Provins, Political Science
- SS: Susan Lucas, Urban Studies
- SS: Andrew Lotz, Political Science
- SS: Kevin Shaver, Economics

Nominees for University Council on Graduate Study (UCGS)

(1 graduate faculty member to be elected from Natural Sciences for a 2-year term)

NS: Ayres Freitas, Physics and Astronomy NS: Jeffrey Hildebrand, Biological Sciences

Nominees for the **Dietrich School Planning &** Budget Committee *

(1 T/TS member in the Social Sciences division for a 3-year term): **Elected faculty members of the Dietrich School PBC may be asked to serve as the elected Dietrich School faculty representatives on the Provost's Area Planning and Budgeting Committee**:

SS: Lara Putnam, History SS: Michael Goodhart, Political Science

(1 AS member in the Natural Sciences division for a 3-year term):

NS: Valerie Oke, Biological Sciences NS: Abagael West, Biological Sciences

*directly elected faculty only—Dietrich School Council also elects three T/TS faculty members