The **DIETRICH** School of Arts & Sciences Gazette

Dietrich School Council Minutes of the December 16, 2021 Meeting

Council Members Present: Dean Kathleen Blee (Chair), Associate Dean for Faculty Recruitment and Research Adam Leibovich (Vice Chair); Elected Members: Haitao Liu, Kathleen Manukyan, Valerie Oke; Divisional Chair Representatives: Stephen Meriney, Scott Morgenstern, Gayle Rogers, and Jonathan Woon

Council Members not present: Elected Members: Carol Colby, Cynthia Croot, Neepa Majumdar, Svitlana Maksymenko, Tymofiy Mylovanov, Chris Nygren, Robert Ruck, and Susan Sesack; Graduate Student Representative: Marcelo Cabarcas, Victoria LaFave: Student Government Board Representative: Matthew Moore, Daniel Temmallo

Dean's Office Personnel present: Associate Dean for Faculty Kay Brummond, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies and CGS John Twyning, Executive Director of Undergraduate Studies and CGS Jessica Hatherill, Executive Director of Administration Michele Montag, Administrative Coordinator Z Taylor

Dean's Office Personnel not present: Acting Associate Dean for Graduate Studies Rosemary Capo

Dean Blee welcomed the Council members and thanked them for attending.

1. Dean's Report (Dean Kathleen Blee)

Dean Blee announced John Twyning, Jessica Hatherill, and she had just come from a meeting with the Office of Admissions and Financial Aid to discuss the next academic year's incoming student numbers. She said that the incoming class appears to be large, diverse, and promising.

Dean Blee informed Council that they would set the date for the spring Full Faculty meeting in the Council's January meeting. She reminded Council that one agenda item will be the changing of titles for appointment stream Lecturers and asked them to submit any additional agenda items in advance of the January meeting.

Dean Blee shared the following announcement.

Maja Lynn, Anthropology major and Museum Studies minor, earned a Marshall Scholarship for her work examining genocide. She will pursue a Master of Arts in Conflict Transformation and Social Justice at Queen's University Belfast in Northern Ireland. Lynn is the eleventh Pitt student to receive this prestigious award.

VOL. 53, NO. 5 MARCH 18, 2022

2. Report from Dietrich School Undergraduate **Council (Associate Dean John Twyning)**

Associate Dean Twyning shared the following report from the Dietrich School Undergraduate Council.

December 3, 2021

Recipients of the 2022 Ampco-Pittsburgh Prize for **Excellence in Advising**

Dietrich School Undergraduate Council selected Danielle Andrews-Brown, Department of Geology and Environmental Science, and Emily Snyder, Dietrich School Advising Center, as the recipients of the 2022 Ampco-Pittsburgh Prize for Excellence in Advising.

Individual courses to fulfill new General Education Requirements

- GER 1102 The German-Speaking World Today
 - o Specific Geographic Region
- HAA 0042 / ARC 0180 World Cities
 - o The Arts
- **RELGST 1726 Healing and Humanity**
 - Philosophical Thinking or Ethics
- SPAN 1436 Nature and the Environment in Hispanic Literature and Culture
 - o Global Issues
- HIST 1447 Economic History of Japan
 - Historical Analysis
 - o Specific Geographic Region
- GSWS 1715 / RELGST 1715 / JS 1715 Feeding the Soul: Food and Gender in Religion
 - o Cross-Cultural Awareness

Council voted to accept Associate Dean Twyning's report.

3. Report on the College of General Studies Council (Associate Dean John Twyning)

Associate Dean Twyning reported that the College of General Studies Council had not met since the previous report.

4. Report from Dietrich School Graduate Council (Acting Associate Dean Rosemary Capo)

The report from the Dietrich School Graduate Council was postponed to the January meeting of Council.

5. Other Business

No other business was discussed. The meeting concluded at 1:20 p.m.

Dietrich School Planning and Budgeting Committee Minutes of the February 2, 2022 Meeting

Council Members present: Dean Kathleen Blee (Chair), Associate Dean for Faculty Recruitment and Research Adam Leibovich (Vice Chair); Elected Members: David Huffman, Gayle Rogers, Haitao Liu, Jae Jae Spoon, Lina Insana, Meredith Guthrie, John Stoner, Katelynn White, Joseph Begley, Kristin Hopkins; Associate Deans: John Twyning, Jonathan Woon; Dietrich School Graduate Students: Nicholas Hougland, Max Peterson, Brianna Wipf

Council Members not present: Elected Members: Andrew Zentner and Suzanna Gribble; Associate Deans: Associate Dean for Faculty Kay Brummond

Resource Personnel present: Executive Director of Administration Michele Montag, Executive Director for Physical and Financial Resources Patrick Cunningham, Sr. Executive Director of Development Tom Golightly, Executive Director of Undergraduate Studies and CGS Jessica Hatherill, Director of Dean's Office Operations Lisa Lang, Director of Communication and Undergraduate Recruitment Carol Mullen, Senior Director of Business and Finance Mathew Romick, Administrative Coordinator Z Taylor

1. Welcome

Dean Blee welcomed the PBC members and outlined the role and business of the PBC for 2021-2022.

2. New Incentive-based Budget ReStart

Dean Blee introduced the new incentive-based budget model that the University is adopting beginning in AY2022-2023.

3. DSAS FY21 Revenue and Expense Snapshot

Patrick Cunningham presented data on the DSAS overall revenue and expense distributions for FY21

4. FY23 Operating Budget Requests

Dean Blee and Patrick Cunningham presented the DSAS RCRP request for operating and capital budget items for fiscal year 2022-2023 (AY23). After discussion, members of the PBC voted to approve the RCRP by a unanimous vote.

5. DSAS Strategic Plan AY2022-2023

Dean Blee discussed the PBC's role in formulating the DSAS strategic plan for AY2022-2023 and discussed the distributed materials that PBC members received in preparation for the next meeting on the strategic plan, that included the DSAS Strategic Plan for AY2021-2022, the Provost's response to the AY2022-2023 DSAS strategic plan, and the new Plan for Pitt which provides the framework for the AY2022-2023 DSAS strategic plan.

6. Other Business

No other business was discussed. The meeting concluded at 2 p.m.