Pitt Professors Selected by Peers as 2009 AAAS Fellows

Pitt professors selected 2009 AAAS Fellows.

Pitt 2008 Truman Scholar Eleanor Ott Named 2010 Rhodes Scholar

Pitt is the only public institution in Pennsylvania with a 2010 Rhodes Scholar Three of Pitt's six Rhodes Scholarships have been won since 2006.

University Times Books, Journals, and More Supplement

The University Times is compiling its annual listing of books, journals, and creative efforts in other media.

Senate Confirms Arts and Sciences Alumnus as Director of National Institute of Standards and Technology

The U.S. Senate confirmed University of Pittsburgh alumnus Patrick Gallagher as the 14th director of the U.S. Department of Commerce's National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Nov. 5.

With experiments backed up by computation, scientists for the first time observe the molecule-by-molecule transformations of a molecular chain-reaction

“Flames and explosions that occur, usually in the gas phase, involve what are known as ’free radical chain reactions,’” explains John Yates, now a chemistry professor at the University of Virginia, “a class of reactions that's been known for maybe 90 years.”

7 receive Distinguished Alumnus Awards

To progressively move forward, many believe that you must remember your past. The University of Pittsburgh’s African American Alumni Council thinks no differently and during last month’s Homecoming celebration, the AAAC honored seven distinguished alumni for their trailblazing accomplishments.

Intriguing Work of Department of Computer Science Faculty being Recognized with NSF Grants

Assistant Professor Adam Lee and Professor Diane Litman in the Department of Computer Science have been awarded National Science Foundation (NSF) grants for their work in the Trustworthy Computing Program and the Robust Intelligence and the Human-Centered Computing Programs, respectively.

MFA Alumna Earns Accolades for Debut Book

Rebecca Skloot (A&S ’07 G) is on the cover of the current issue of Publisher’s Weekly, which features her forthcoming book from Crown, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.The book was her creative nonfiction MFA thesis in the Department of English at Pitt.

Self-Service Enrollment Begins this Fall

As you may already know, this fall for the first time, University of Pittsburgh students at the Oakland campus will be able to enroll in spring term classes online through the Student Center at This convenient new service will allow you to register and add and drop classes as easily as you can now log on to check your grades.

University of Pittsburgh Names 12 New Legacy Laureates

PITTSBURGH-The University of Pittsburgh has named 12 new Legacy Laureates, alumni recognized for their outstanding personal and professional accomplishments. The laureates were honored during Pitt's Oct. 22-24 Homecoming festivities.

From Solar Power to Proteins, New Generation of Pitt Faculty Receives Awards to Explore Future Technologies and Health Care

National Science Foundation CAREER Awards support emerging research in artificial tissue construction, sustainable energy, advanced electronics, and the role of the body's smallest components in causing and preventing diseases.

Department of Geology and Planetary Science Celebrating Accomplishments in Paleoclimateology, Volcanology and Seismology

As the fall semester moves rapidly towards mid-terms, the Department of Geology and Planetary Science is off to a positive start and is celebrating six significant National Science Foundation grants and the opening of a new three component seismograph.

Ampco-Pittsburgh Nominations

Celebrate excellence in academic advising by nominating a School of Arts and Sciences faculty academic advisor for the 2010 Ampco-Pittsburgh Prize for Excellence in Advising.

Bellet Award Nominations

Recognize extraordinary achievement and innovation in undergraduate teaching by nominating a School of Arts and Sciences faculty member for the 2010 Tina & David Bellet Teaching Excellence Awards.

Chemistry Professor Megan Spence Wins NSF CAREER Award

Megan Spence, assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry, has been selected to receive a National Science Foundation CAREER award based on her proposal entitled "Discrepancies in Raft Size Between Cellular and Model Membranes: Solid-State NMR Measurements of Protein Effect on Lipid Raft Size."