UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH

The DIETRICH School of Arts & Sciences Gazette

VOL. 47, NO. 1 AUGUST 31, 2015

KENNETH P. DIETRICH SCHOOL OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

FALL FULL FACULTY MEETING

September 17, 2015

2 p.m.

O'Hara Student Center Ballroom

Agenda

- 1. Dean's Report (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 2. Report on the Amendment to Dietrich School Governing Documents to Expand Tenure Council (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 3. Report on Undergraduate Studies (Associate Dean John Twyning)
- 4. Report on Graduate Studies (Associate Dean Kathleen Blee)
- 5. Report on Enrollment (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 6. Update on Child Protection Compliance (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 7. Report from Diversity Committee (Associate Dean Kathleen Blee)
 - >Recruiting
 - >Mentoring
- 8. Election of Dietrich School Nominating Committee (Dean N. John Cooper)
- 9. Other Business

New Faculty Reception 3 p.m.

SLATE OF CANDIDATES FOR

DIETRICH SCHOOL NOMINATING COMMITTEE

The following slate of candidates for the 2015-2016 Dietrich School Nominating Committee was prepared by the Dietrich School Council at its April 17, 2015 meeting. The faculty members listed have indicated their willingness to serve on the Nominating Committee for a term of one year if elected. This slate will be presented to the voting faculty for a vote at the September 17, 2015 meeting of the Dietrich School Faculty. Additional candidates, who have indicated their willingness to serve either by statement at the meeting or by prior consent in writing, may be nominated from the floor at the faculty meeting. In the absence of a quorum, the slate will be sent to the faculty by electronic ballot.

Faculty elected to the Nominating Committee typically meet with Dean N. John Cooper and then by themselves to select Dietrich School faculty nominees whose names will be placed on the spring ballot for members of the various councils and committees whose terms begin with academic year 2016-2017. The faculty member with the most votes from each Division also serves as a Dietrich School representative on the Senate Committee for Elections for a two-year term.

FACULTY WILL VOTE FOR CANDIDATES IN THEIR DIVISION ONLY

Humanities	<u>Natural Sciences</u>	Social Sciences
Select 2 T/TS Faculty Members	Select 2 T/TS Faculty Members	Select 2 T/TS Faculty Members
Alan Juffs (Linguistics)	Mark Abbott (GPS)	Margaret Judd (Anthropology)
Brent Malin (Communication)	Jeff Brodsky (Biological Sciences)	Mohammed Bamyeh (Sociology
Jennifer Waldron (English)	Geoffrey Hutchinson (Chemistry)	Werner Troesken (Economics)
Select 1 NTS Faculty Member	Select 1 NTS Faculty Member	Select 1 NTS Faculty Member
Alison Langmead (HAA)	Mark Collins (GPS)	Andrew Lotz (Political Science)
Ana Paula Carvalho (Hispanic)	Susan Maleckar (Chemistry)	Michael Glass (Urban Studies)